Main menu


How to get a Florida Insurance License

How to get a Florida Insurance License

Complete a Florida insurance course prior to licensing

To qualify for the Florida insurance licensing exam, you must complete the pre-licensing insurance course approved by the Florida Department of Financial Services. Upon passing the final course exam prior to licensure, you will receive a certificate of completion of the course.

Florida license preinsurance courses cover various insurance concepts, fees, insurance laws, and agent regulations included in the Florida Exams Table of Contents. Courses are presented in a clear and concise format and include educational videos, interactive illustrations, practice tests, and student support.

Pass the Florida insurance license exam

Upon successful completion of the license preinsurance course, you must register with Pearson Vue to take a state insurance exam. Reservations for tests can be made online at the Pearson Vue website or by phone at (888) 274-2020.

Register for the state exam

the expected cost

Insurance Exam Fee: $ 44.00

About the state exam

  • You must provide a current identification form with a photo (driver's license, passport, etc.) that exactly matches the name on the test center record. You do not need to present a certificate of completion of the course.
  • Test schedules are typically available in the morning, afternoon, and early evening Monday through Friday at various locations throughout the state.
  • You must arrive 30 minutes before your scheduled appointment to allow time for registration procedures. If you are late, you will not be allowed to take the exam and you will lose your exam fee.
  • Applicants with disabilities must make special arrangements before registering for the state exam by calling the exam officer at (888) 274-2020
  • 70% passing score

Check out our Insurance License Exam Tips for more information on the state exam format and types of exam questions, plus additional exam-taking tips to help you prepare for exam day.

Submit electronic fingerprints

You must make an appointment to submit electronic fingerprints to complete a background check. The Florida Department of Financial Services requires fingerprints to ensure that applicants do not have an ineligible criminal or social record that prevents them from being licensed insurance agents.

Resident candidates taking the insurance exam for the first time must be fingerprinted; However, if you have already submitted electronic fingerprints in the last twelve months for a previous proof of insurance, you may not be required to submit a new batch of fingerprints. You can contact Florida Financial Services to determine if a new set of fingerprints is needed.

the expected cost

Fingerprint fee: $ 45.80 plus local Florida sales tax

Complete the insurance license application

Once you pass the state insurance test, you can apply for an insurance license through the Florida Department of Financial Services website. Click the button below and follow the steps to complete your order:

  1. If you don't have an account yet, click "Create an account" in the menu on the left.
  2. Choose "Individual" from the drop-down menu and fill in the required information on the following pages
  3. Complete your order by sending a payment with your credit card

For help creating your account on the department's website, or retrieving your username or password to log into your account, this page provides a link to an interactive tutorial on "Need Help?" Section.

Complete the online application

Licensing qualifications

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • Florida resident
  • A U.S. citizen or legal alien with a work permit from the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services. Learn more here
  • Pass the government insurance exam for the lines of authority you request
  • You will not have committed any act that is considered grounds to deny, suspend or cancel the license. Please click here for more details

the expected cost

Application Fee: $ 55.00

Members of the U.S. Armed Forces, their spouses, and veterans who retire within 24 months are exempt from the license application fee. Those who meet these criteria should send a copy of DD 214 to and request a refund of the application fee.

Print your insurance license

Once your application is approved, you will receive an email from the Florida Department of Financial Services. You will be able to view and print your Flo insurance license from your MyProfile account.



1 comment
Post a Comment

Post a Comment